Academy Governors Awards: Michael J. Fox, Euzhan Palcy, Diane Warren, And Peter Weir Will Receive Honorary Awards!

Tuesday, June 21, the Academy declared the names of honorary award collectors including the first Australian Weir and the first black woman filmmaker Euzhan Palcy along with the 6-time Oscar winner Diane Warren and the famous songwriter Michael J. Faux.

Michael is also a Parkison’s disease activist who launched the foundation in 2000 after being diagnosed with the disease at the age of 29. The foundation is leading the worldwide Parkinson’s organizations. Despite the situation, the iconic actor marked his talent with numerous awards and honors worldwide.

This year, the brave author and advocate are going to be appreciated with The Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award at the 13th Governors Awards on November 19. 

13th Governors Awards Declared The Names Of Honorary Oscar Collectors!!

The Oscar winner is currently undergoing the subject of a documentary by another Oscar-winning movie-maker Davis Guggenheim who has already been celebrated with multiple honorary awards.

David Rubin, Academy President stated the impact of Parkinson’s research paired with his optimism has made Michael J. Faux deserving of the award. He also added the significant role of Euzhan Palcy, the first black female filmmaker to be honored, in the international cinemas, since it is extraordinary and historical.

Also, the President put light on Dianne Warren’s songs that have inspired people for generations. His music and lyrics are equally commendable.

Academy Governors Awards Michael J. Fox, Euzhan Palcy, Diane Warren, And Peter Weir Will Receive Honorary Awards!

Last but not the least, David mentioned the role of directors like Peter Weir, who is capable of portraying the complete spectrum of human life through a film.

The four incredible artists were chosen based on their individual contributions to the industry of cinema and the world as a whole.

The Hersholt Awards are only received so far by 42 recipients including the famous American actress Angelina Jolie. It is exclusively presented based on the humanitarian efforts made by the nominees. 

Whereas, Honorary Awards are usually delivered to at least an individual, a group, an organization, or a film, every year. The criterion is an exceptional contributor to motion picture arts and science. So far, the distinctive award has been offered 186 times. Indicating that the Honorary Awards have been followed for almost two centuries now.

Warren, 65, has efficiently worked with Lady Gaga and Beyonce and would be the first songwriter to be awarded. Even though she has not won even once in her career, she has been nominated 13 times for the best original song. 

Meanwhile, Weir has been nominated as a producer once, as a writer once, and four times as a director. None of the categories have so far congratulated him with the respected awards. He will be the first Australian to be honored so as per the Academy announcement made on Tuesday. 

Leave a Comment


Subscribe to our channel

Get news and discounts straight to your inbox

About Us

For more than a decade, Unplugged With Ngl has been delivering the most pertinent news including the economy, science, tech, sport, entertainment, and world news to people across the globe. We were founded as an independent news agency in 2018.


1525 Ubaldo Mount.South Annie, Vermont,04096,USA

Call Us: +1-331-490-9025

[email protected]

Copyright © 2022 UNPLUGG'D Magazine